Student Services & FAQs

Fri, 08/14/2020 - 10:57am

5th Grade Parent MS Orientation Presentation

MWMS Presentation | Topic: Navigating Middle School (January 21st at 6:30 p.m.)

Student Services Website | Topic: Choosing Classes for School Year 2021/22

All Star Student Trainings with our MWMS Counselors

These all star training workshops help our students become the All Star Student they want to be!

Next Training: Friday, Dec. 18th at 12pm Google Meet Code: MWMSPASSTHEWORD

This weeks topic is: Kicking the Extra Point: Tips for Organization

Click here for promo!

PDF iconAll Star Student Workshops.pdf

All Star Parent Night Events

MWMS 1st All Star Parent Night | Topic: Helping Your Child Stay Engaged During Virtual Learning (October 14th at 6 p.m.)

MWMS 2nd All Star Parent Night | Topic: Setting Up Families for Success (November 11th at 6 p.m.)

MWMS 3rd All Star Parent Night  | Topic: Your Wellness Matters (December 9th at 6 p.m.)

Administration

Principal:                      Monica Stevens             monica_stevens@hcpss.org

Assistant Principal:       Matthew Cox                 matthew_cox@hcpss.org
                                      6th Grade Administrator and 7th Grade Administrator Last name A-L

Assistant Principal:       Kim Mahle                    kim_mahle@hcpss.org
                                     7th Grade Administrator Last name M-Z and 8th Grade Administrator

Student Services

Access our Student Services Canvas page which contains resources for test taking and a video from our counselors!

School Counselors

6th Grade              Therese Garroway                   therese_garroway@hcpss.org

7th grade               Jen Mech                                 jennifer_mech@hcpss.org

8th grade               Susan Bradley                          susan_bradley@hcpss.org

Alternative Ed:       Beth Aguilera                          elizabeth_aguilera@hcpss.org

                              Drema Bonavitacola               drema_bonvitacola@hcpss.org

Secretary:             Erin Clark                                erin_clark@hcpss.org

Data clerk:            Pam Steele                             pam_steele@hcpss.org

Social Worker:       Stephanie Wallace                  stephanie_wallace@hcpss.org

PPW:                     Shereima Smith                      shereima_smith@hcpss.org

Psychologist:        Dan Carr                                 daniel_carr@hcpss.org

Hispanic Liaison:   Marluy Torres                          marluy_torres@hcpss.org

Frequently Asked Questions:

How do I register my child for school?

Go to HCPSS.org and register on line.  https://www.hcpss.org/enroll/

Once this is completed Ms. Clark will be in contact with your family to complete the registration.

When does school start?

Students start school for the 2020-2021 school year on September 8, 2020
8:30 a.m. – 3:15 p.m.

How do I withdraw my child?

Please contact Ms. Clark, our Student Services Secretary to assist you.

Who do I contact if I have questions about my child’s schedule? 

Families should contact their child's school counselor with questions about schedule changes.

How can I get access to Canvas?

Please use the link below to sign up for Family Connection and to get answers on how to connect to Canvas and Synergy.

https://www.hcpss.org/connect/

What supplies will my child need for learning?

Please find the school supply list for all middle schools here. For the 2020-21 school year, there is one supply list for all middle schools. The number of supplies on the list have been reduced to keep costs down for families and reflect those most essential for virtual learning. Input was received from middle school administrators and the Division of Academics.

Parents/Guardians: Please help your child by replenishing supplies during the year as needed. Please contact our Student Services Ofc Mrs. Erin Clark Erin_Clark@hcpss.org for assistance with supplies.

What calculator will my child need for math?

The graphing calculator is an important technology tool used in Howard County mathematics courses beginning with Algebra 1 and extending through the end of the course sequence. Although digital graphing tools are available online and will be used at various times in middle and high school math courses, students are best served by having a personal graphing calculator such as the TI-84 Plus CE (rechargeable) graphing calculator. Students who go on to take mathematics courses in college will likely be able to use the same calculator for college coursework. Note that students are permitted to use a graphing calculator on the SAT, ACT and Advanced Placement mathematics exams. Arrangements can also be made to borrow a graphing calculator from school through your child’s mathematics teacher.

How do I get meals for my child?

https://help.hcpss.org/food-service/resources-families-meal-distribution/

I need translation or an interpreter?

If your home language is Spanish and need assistance, please reach out to our Hispanic Liaison, Marluy Torres by email.  If you need assistance in other languages please use the link below.

https://help.hcpss.org/language-supports/language-supports-offered/

How do I get support from my child’s school counselor?

You can email your child’s school counselor and they will get back to you within 24-48 hours.

What if my child needs immediate help depression, suicidal thoughts, or other serious mental health issues, please contact:

  • Grassroots Crisis Intervention at 410-531-6677
  • The Maryland Crisis Hotline: Dial 211 and then choose option 1
  • The Crisis Text Line: Text 741741 and a trained counselor will respond.
  • The National Suicide Prevention Hotline at 1-800-273-8255